Opening submissions for 2015!

FOR RELEASE 12:00BST 22nd June 2015

The Kitschies announce the opening of submissions for 2015

The Kitschies, sponsored by Fallen London, literature’s most tentacular prize, are pleased to announce the 2015 judging panel and the opening of submissions for books published in the UK in 2015.

These five individuals will be tasked with finding the year’s most progressive, intelligent and entertaining books that contain elements of the speculative and fantastic. Winners receive a total of £2,500 in prize money, as well as one of the prize’s iconic hand-crafted Tentacle trophies.

The prize is now in its sixth year, with previous winners including Ruth Ozeki, Lauren Beukes, China Miéville, Karen Lord, Nick Harkaway, Kameron Hurley and Patrick Ness. Last year’s winners were Andrew Smith’s Grasshopper Jungle (Red Tentacle) and Hermione Eyre’s Viper Wine (Golden Tentacle), selected from a shortlist that included works by William Gibson, Monica Byrne, Hanya Yanagihara, Will Wiles, and Nina Allen.

The judges for the Red and Golden Tentacles, for novels and debut novels, are Sarah Lotz, James Smythe, Nikesh Shukla, Nazia Khatun, and Glen Mehn.

James Smythe said

“The Kitschies have long been one of the most interesting literary awards around – the criteria alone guaranteeing shortlists packed with books and writers that everybody should be reading – and talking about. I’m thrilled to be helping to judge it – there are some incredible writers out there, some astonishing ideas, and I hope we can find the best of them and deliver them to you on a tentacley platter.”

Last year, The Kitschies received a record 198 submissions from over 50 publishers and imprints, including self-published books. The prize is open to both digital and physical submissions.

Please see the for more information about the judges and the prize as well as to get submissions instructions.

Proudly sponsored by



0 Comments on “Opening submissions for 2015!